You are here
Home > Topic > Bent But Not Broken

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Tricia Duckworth 1 year, 6 months ago.

• Author

Tricia Duckworth
    Keymaster

I started my job 20 months ago with no indication that it was going to be the job from hell. Maybe the experience was setting me up for my future, maybe I was there to be a blessing to someone else but the one thing I know, God did not intend for me to be a doormat. See, I worked for a non-profit Christian Ministry as a Program Manager in which I worked as a Social Worker. My director was intimidated by me from day one. He hired me to be the manager and run the program but wouldn’t allow me to do my job. I could never speak about the decisions of running the program because he would tear down every suggestion I had. He talked over me, he wouldn’t listen to me as I couldn’t get a word in. I spent many, many days not saying anything at all. He threaten my job many times (according to him, I made poor decisions when it came to our clients). I started keeping notes on how I was being treated, it wasn’t good at all. One particular time he raised his voice at me and as I was trying to speak he accused me of yelling at him. He asked me to get out of his office, as I was leaving the office, he stormed behind me yelling and told me to leave the building. During one of my evaluations he told me not to use “big” words when I was providing information about my future opportunities for more training. He even told me that I wasn’t cut out for this job, maybe I should try something else. See, I’m not sure what his intentions were completely, but what I do know, he was not going to break me. He was not going to dictate to me what I’m suppose to be doing or what I’m not built for. For I know the plans God has for me.

Share an experience you had with an employer that was not pleasant and how God gave you peace about it.

Let’s Chat About It.

Ann Williams
    Participant

Tricia,